Skip to content

Eccentricity

July 26, 2012

I have a weird tendency, or is it weird? Well I don’t know, you can be the judge. I really don’t care either way, I accept my eccentricity.

What is this weird tendency of mine?

… Well, sometimes, I sing whatever pops into my mind… out loud… but usually not in crowded public places. So, perhaps it is not that weird.

Anyway, here is a story for you.

I was walking down the street trying to figure out the motivation and backstory of some characters in a story and eventually my rambling to the fields turned into singing, which is fine, nothing too odd about that.

But then, as I was headed back home, and after my random singing turned into more of a repeating about how messed up everybody is, a guy biked by and said something to me. It sounded like it was either “amen” or “Hey, man”. I’m really not sure… maybe he wasn’t even speaking to me, but I think he was.  Though, I have no real way of knowing since he just biked on by.

 

This leaves me with several questions.

  1. Was his comment actually directed to me?
  2. Provided it was, what did he actually say?
  3. Did he even hear me singing.
  4. If so, what part did he hear/ was agreeing to?

 

So many questions!

Which made me think about how sometimes the capacity to read minds would be useful, but then I don’t really want to read minds all the time. Or perhaps just being able to rewind and review what happened would be beneficial to understanding what transpired. Thus omniscience becomes a desirable characteristic, although perhaps not always.

Of course, there is always the less complex way to look at it.

Maybe I should just not walk around singing in general… but where is the fun in that?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

