Skip to content

Adjusting

July 7, 2012

So there’s this thing called “Reverse Culture Shock”. It’s the term for when you return from a time abroad and you experience culture shock… but the culture “shocking” you is your own… but now you’re different than you were and you have adjusted to living in a different country with a different way of living.

Luckily, I have yet to experience that too badly (I returned to the USA about 4 days ago). What I have experienced is disappointement when I went to the grocery store ( I prefer my store in Spain…), eating fast food at McDonalds for the first time in about half a year, and having a messed up sleep schedule… among other things.

So far, the hardest part really has been the sleep schedule. As grateful as I am that I didn’t have jet lag like I did when I arrived in Spain, it was rather frustrating being exhausted today but not able to nap… which, by the way, I never have problems with. I’m a sleep-aholic, it makes no sense that I couldn’t fall asleep for a nap… I blame the adjustment phase.

Although eating McDonalds was interesting as well… I mean, it tasted rather good because that’s the point of McDonalds, it’s all processed to be delicious and addicting, but since my belly is used to food that is more fresh, without much, if any, processing it wasn’t too happy… but that’s ok.

Anyway, I’m bound to find other things different about being back here… I can already think of several other things, but that’s alright, it’s all part of adjusting. Besides, everyone has adjusting to do in their lives… my current adjustments just happen to refer to these changes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

